must know

Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Ramon Magsaysay Award, Asia’s premier prize and highest honor, celebrates greatness of spirit and transformative leadership in Asia. In the past five decades, the award has been bestowed on over three hundred outstanding men, women and organizations whose selfless service has offered their societies, Asia, and the world successful solutions to some of the most intractable problems of human development.

The trustees of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation annually select the awardees. Awardees are presented with a certificate and a medallion with an embossed image of Ramon Magsaysay facing right in profile. The Award is presented to them in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31st, the birth anniversary of the much-esteemed Philippine President whose ideals inspired the Award’s creation in 1957.

About Ramon Magsaysay

President of the Republic of the Philippines
30 December 1953 – 17 March 1957

Ramon del Fierro Magsaysay was the third president of the Republic of the Philippines after World War II. His life had great impact not only in his country but on many people in many lands. He was one of the outstanding leaders of his time.

Ramon Magsaysay commanded the admiration, respect and affection of people because he was a simple, humble man; because he cared for all people as individuals and believed in their dignity and importance; and because he had the courage of his convictions. His objective was to improve the lot of his fellow Filipinos and he approached the task with selfless devotion. He was convinced that government, to last and to be sound, must have integrity and reflect the will of the people.

A man of greatness of spirit, he saw his fellow human beings born with the right to live in liberty and happiness. He angered at injustice and the violation of high principles. He worked to build a nation — a world — in which all people were free and lived in honor and peace with one another.

The world is richer and better because Ramon Magsaysay lived. His spirit will continue to be an inspiration. He exemplifies the highest type of leadership.

Categories of the award are:

Government services (GS)

 Public services (PS)

Community leadership(CL) 

Journalism, literature & creative communication arts (JLCCA) 

Peace and International Understanding (PIU)

Emergent leadership (EL)

From the year 2009, The Ramon Magsaysay award foundation has done away with the practice of awarding the award in the above six categories. 

List of Indian Recipients of Ramon Magsaysay Award:

NameYear AwardedCategory
Vinobha Bhave1958Community Leadership
Chintaman Deshmukh1959Government Services
Amitabha Chowdhury1961Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Mother Teresa1962Peace and International Understanding
Dara Khurody1963Community Leadership
Verghese  Kurien1963Community Leadership
Tribhuvandas Patel1963Community Leadership
Welthy Fisher1964Peace and International Understanding
Jayaprakash Narayan1965Public Service
Kamaladevi Chattopadhyay1966Community Leadership
Satyajit Ray1967Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Moncompu Sambasivan Swaminathan1971Community Leadership
M.S. Subbalakshmi1974Public Service
Boobli George Verghese1975Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Henning Holck-Larsen1976Peace and International Understanding
Ela Ramesh Bhatt1977Community Leadership
Mabelle Arole1979Community Leadership
Rajanikant Arole1979Community Leadership
Gour Kishore Gosh1981Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Pramod Karan Sethi1981Community Leadership
Chandi Prasad Bhatt1982Community Leadership
Manibhai Desai1982Public Service
Arun Shourie1982Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Rasipuram Lakshman1984Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Muralidhar Amte1985Public Service
Lakshmi Chand Jain1989Public Service
K.V. Subbanna1991Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Ravi Shankar1992Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Banoo Jehangir Coyaji1993Public Service
Kiran Bedi1994Government Services
Pandurang Athavale1996Community leadership
Tirunellai Seshan1996Government Services
Maheshweta Devi1997Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Jockin Arputham2000Peace and International Understanding
Aruna Roy2000Community Leadership
Rajendra Singh2001Community Leadership
Sandeep Pandey2002Emergent Leadership
James Michael Lyngdoh2003Government Services
Shantha Sinha2003Government Services
Lakshminarayan Ramdas2004Peace and International Understanding
V. Shantha2005Public Service
Arvind Kejriwal2006Emergent Leadership
Palagummi Sainath2007Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts
Mandakini Amte2008Community Leadership
Deep Joshi2009Community Leadership
Neelima Mishra2011Emergent Leadership
Harish Hande2011Community Leadership
Kulandei Francis2012Emergent Leadership
Anshu Gupta & Sanjiv Chaturvedi2015Emergent Leadership
Bezwada Wilson,Thodur Madabusi Krishna2016Human rights activist,Carnatic music
Bharat Vatwani,Sonam Wangchuk2018Restoring health and dignity to troubled lives Education for community progress
Ravish Kumar2019Journalist (“Prime Time” show on NDTV)

The latest Ramon Magsaysay Awardee Ravish Kumar got this award in appreciation of his TV show “Prime Time” programme “deals with real-life, under-reported problems of ordinary people”.


Leave a reply